Linux Setup

This is the second part of a 5 stage activity about DevOps.

First, we need to have a Linux distribution, I decided to use a Virtual Machine for this and here is a really cool guide to install Ubuntu on a virtual machine, using Virtual Box.

I used the Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS Desktop version, which can be found here.

Then we have to install the support for a development environment.

For this I will start with python since Ubuntu comes with a command line version of it pre-installed.

Installing git is as easy as:
sudo apt update
sudo apt install git
but if you want more information about installing it from source or setting it up you can check out this guide.

To setup for web deployment. I chose the classic LAMP stack with Apache, MySQL and PHP. Here is a complete guide that helped me with this.

Lastly to get started with Cron, I made a task that runs the command /home/user/Desktop/example.sh, which writes on console “Hello World” at 12:00 a.m. every day. This tutorial helped me out.

cron

And that is all for this week, next week we will look at how to setup GitHub and connect it to the server.

Leave a comment